Wonderful email HTD received from a teacher in West Palm Beach, FL

My name is Rachel Pignato. I was a senior sitting in high school on September 11th, 2001. I was so impacted by the event I wanted to do something to better the world, so I became a teacher. I currently teach 12 grade government and economics and every year I take time to teach on tragic events of that day. My students were too young to understand the full significance of it so through video, pictures and audio I share the day with them so that we never forget. But more than that I understand the difficulty of personalizing such a mass of loss which is where the Hold the Door campaign comes in. I teach my students ever year about Ronald Carl Fazio Sr. and his simple act of holding the door and how it’s impacted so many. I charge my students with having a week to further the cause of holding the door. Students have helped elderly neighbors paint their house or worked at a soup kitchen and the list goes on. I told the kids of how Mr. Fazio loved Reese’s peanut butter cups and I give them each one. Every time they see one now they remember the act of holding the door. Many have actually pinned the wrapper to their backpacks as a reminder. This week I finally was able to pay my respects at the Memorial. It was a trip 11 years in the making. I took an impression kit and shaded his name on the south 60 panel. I was overwhelmed by the magnitude of the moment and found myself inconsolable over a man I never met. His story has changed my life and the lives of my students… And for no other reason his death had purpose. I wanted to share my experience and pass along my admiration to his family for the work they are doing to honor his legacy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

